R&R Taqueria: Fill Up, Get Gas.

14 Feb

Photo credit: http://www.topthisplace.com

In Elkridge, MD near Jessup at the intersection of Rt. 175 and Washington Blvd lies a Shell gas station that is home to the best Mexican cuisine this side of outer space.  That doesn’t even make sense.  That’s how GOOD this place is!

Full disclosure: the place is so dumpy that my wife and I walked in several weeks ago to try it out, and immediately left before ordering.  It just didn’t make sense to me at the time but man,  I’m so glad I gave it another shot.

Allow me to preface this by stating that I have sampled Mexican “cuisine” in the following locations: Baja California, Rosarito, Ensenada, Southern California and Playa del Carmen. Not necessarily areas known for their mastery of the culinary arts, but places you would expect to find good authentic Mexican cooking.

In none of these locations have I found anything that even comes close to chef Rodrigo Albarran-Torres’ masterful creations.  It is not only the best Mexican food I’ve ever eaten in my life, it is some of the best FOOD I’ve ever had.  Period.  I haven’t been this excited about food since my last trip to the Charleston and that ran me over $300 for two of us! R&R? $18!

The Quesadilla al pastor was amazing.  The homemade re-fried beans, amazing.  Tomatillo sauce from scratch? Amazing (and HOT!).  Lamb soup, amazing.  The pork belly tacos will make you spazz out like a little child.  The slow-cooked meats are seasoned perfectly.  Mix and match tacos with any of the following:

  • Lamb (barbacoa)
  • Pork Shoulder (carnitas)
  • Pork (pastor)
  • Steak (carne asada)
  • Pork Belly (buche)
  • Fried pork rinds
  • Stewed beef
  • Chorizo
  • Chicken
  • Beef tongue
  • Baby pig

All of their ingredients, from the cheese (Oaxacan and/or casero I believe) to the spices to the wonderful corn tortillas and even the sour cream are fresh and 100% authentic.

How much longer can this place be kept a secret before the masses catch on and it gets turned into the new Baja Fresh? Not sure but I do know one thing: the “Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives” episode featuring R&R airs later this month.  I’d get there before the hoards of triple-D fans do if I were you.

FYI: Catch R&R on Food Network’s “Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives” Monday, Feburary 27th at 10 PM.

R&R Taqueria

7894 Washington Blvd.
Elkridge, MD 21075

www.rrtaqueria.com

Leave a Reply

